Scrantonicity is back!

scrantonicity.png

I began watching the original Office (British version) a few years ago and loved it.
When the American version started, I was unsure… some of the first few episodes seemed like lame remakes. It took a few episodes to find its own identity, but it eventually evolved into a brilliant show in its own right. Now it is one of my favorites, and the only show that can make me laugh out-loud!

The new Office episode that aired tonight featured the wedding of Phyllis and Bob. One of the most amazing parts of this episodes was that Kevin’s Police tribute band, Scrantonicity, performs at the wedding!!

Here is an excerpt of an interview with Brian Baumgartner (Kevin) where he talks about his role as the singer /drummer for Scrantoncity:

“The idea of Kevin being in a band has been around since the absolute beginning of Season 1, and he had a Steve Miller tribute band. And because of some issues and negotiating with Mr. Miller, those scenes did not appear on the show. We did have to make a very last-minute change to do this… Kevin talks so low, and has very little expression, and there is no band that sings higher and with more expression than the Police. So the juxtaposition of that was a major reason. And the idea that in Kevin’s spare time he would go rock out to the Police is kind of unbelievable. There’s several things in the show that make Kevin a savant. Suddenly you find out that he has a World Series of Poker bracelet, and you’re like, what? Or that he makes 14 baskets in a row in the basketball episode, and you’re like, what? Similarly, I’ve been told that it is basically physically impossible to drum and sing the Police songs at the same time. Because all the drumming happens on the off beat, and all the singing happens on the down beat, you would have to be a genius musical savant to accomplish this. So regardless of the quality of the sound he makes, there’s something sort of genius about Kevin’s ability to do that.

…I will walk into a bar, and hear ”Scrantonicity!” yelled out. I have been pumping gas, and people driving by on the road have yelled ”Scrantonicity!” That catches me so off guard. It was a reference in one episode! I have this MySpace page; I’m up to half a million blog readers on these things, and the friends list is at 30,000. I get requests all the time from people: ”No, really dude, when I get married, would you come and play? I don’t live that far from Scranton.” And I want to write back and go, ”You know I’m not really in Scranton, right?” It’s not like you can bribe me with a short commute. There’s some guy who’s made Scrantonicity tour T-shirts on the web, and the reason I know that is because my mom bought some. They came to visit me, and she and my dad were wearing Scrantonicity T-shirts. It’s so crazy to me. All these requests: ”Post Scrantonicity music!” I want to say, ”We’ve only kind of got one song, guys.” The music video is the only time I’ve sung anything from Scrantonicity or the Police.”

Amazing. This could be a turning point for the band.
Just in time for the big Police reunion!

Explore posts in the same categories: entertainment, TV

One Comment on “Scrantonicity is back!”


  1. Why does Kevin look like he has no arms in this picture?
    He looks like the drummer from Mr. Show’s Indomitable Spirit… or Def Leppard…
    Is that mean to say?


Leave a Reply

