Finally…

obama-starkman

Explore posts in the same categories: community, justice

7 Comments on “Finally…”

  1. Art Says:

    So, explain this concept of hope. I don’t get it.


  2. Right now, you are seeing hope in the eyes of millions of people throughout the world… people who believe that America can be something better than what it’s been in the past.

    You will especially see hope in the eyes of those who are not like you and me… people of color, who have a different understanding of hope and suffering. If you look into the eyes of a person of color, especially those who struggle to support their family, and those who have experienced the racial strife in our country over the last century, you will begin to understand.

    Let us set aside the fear and the issues we hold so tightly to, and seek to explore the social, historical and global significance of this event. I encourage you to talk to some folks who are not well-off, not white, and they will begin to help us understand the true significance of this moment.

  3. Seth Says:

    all hail the new ceasar who will bring hope and peace!!!


  4. Seth, I am sure you were trying to make a point with you over-dramatic response.
    If anyone is expecting President Obama to be the saviour of the world, they will be disappointed.
    The wheels of politics and progress move slowly, and the process is tainted.

    However, I think it is right for us to desire leaders in government who, at least in part, will work towards the same good we strive for. I am sure you would agree… or would you like us to spend more money in Iraq and less on education and health care?


  5. Seth, I am sure you were trying to make a point with you over-dramatic response.
    If anyone is expecting President Obama to be the saviour of the world, they will be disappointed.
    The wheels of politics and progress move slowly, and the process is tainted.

    However, I think it is right for us to desire leaders in government who, at least in part, will work towards the same good we strive for. I am sure you would agree… or would you like us to spend more money in Iraq and less on education and health care?

  6. Old la Says:

    And all this time, I thought there was one saviour and he is fast being eliminated in our country…between the liberals who want to live any way they want and just get abortions if they have an accident, and lets take In God We Trust off the new Silver Dollars, and lets take prayer out of schools and mmm what else can the liberals do?? mmmm believe me our country was great..and then it became so liberal and corrupted..wait
    til the new Prez has to start paying back the millions that he owes people ! haa wonder whats going to get passed now?

  7. Michele Says:

    A few words from McCain’s speech…

    “I urge all Americans who supported me to join me in not just congratulating him, but offering our next president our good will and earnest effort to find ways to come together, to find the necessary compromises, to bridge our differences, and help restore our prosperity, defend our security in a dangerous world, and leave our children and grandchildren a stronger, better country than we inherited.

    Whatever our differences, we are fellow Americans. And please believe me when I say no association has ever meant more to me than that.

    This campaign was and will remain the great honor of my life. And my heart is filled with nothing but gratitude for the experience and to the American people for giving me a fair hearing before deciding that Senator Obama and my old friend Senator Joe Biden should have the honor of leading us for the next four years.

    Tonight, more than any night, I hold in my heart nothing but love for this country and for all its citizens, whether they supported me or Senator Obama, I wish Godspeed to the man who was my former opponent and will be my president.” – Senator John McCain, November 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

